Logo Copibec
Copyright Specialists
Newsletter - April 16, 2020
SHARE   Facebook  Twitter  LinkedIn 

COVID-19: Copibec is finding solutions

Copibec continues to adapt so we can meet your needs during the pandemic

 Our most recent news

SHARE   Facebook  Twitter  LinkedIn 

Executive Director's update

The COVID-19 situation is evolving rapidly in Quebec and all around the world. During this crisis, Copibec is continuing to operate remotely. Please don’t hesitate to contact us if you have any questions.

Copibec is taking action

The pandemic has plunged the entire world into uncertainty, including the arts and culture sector and its many freelancers and self-employed workers. We're here for you and we’re working on rolling out our direct deposit system sooner than planned in order to ensure that royalty payments continue to be made during the crisis. Of course, we’ll let you know about any changes. Follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date.

In addition, Copibec and other players in the arts and culture industry have been given assurance by the federal government that copyright royalties received for a period prior to the COVID-19 crisis will not prevent you from being eligible for the Canada Emergency Response Benefit (CERB).

Solutions for the Quebec education sector

Copibec has adjusted its licences to help the education sector as well as content creators and their publishers. For example, the reproduction limit for books has been raised from the usual 15% to 35%. Some types of use can also be authorized at no extra charge. These changes are temporary and are currently expected to remain in effect until May 1, 2020. See our website for complete details.

Data collection/reporting

We made another series of changes after Quebec school boards were closed. The educational institutions participating in the data collection process will have until April 30 to report the content they reproduced, scanned or displayed during the second reporting period that ended on March 31. Teaching personnel can report their content immediately by logging into their accounts. Our education sector team is available to answer your questions and support you in this process.

In the face of so much uncertainty, we understand that teaching personnel may not have all the information they need to report the content they’ve reproduced. That’s why we’re asking you to provide all the information you have on hand. Every piece of information is valuable so Copibec can compensate the creators behind the material you’ve used. Those royalties make a big difference, especially during difficult times like this.

Visual arts

Registration for the visual arts payment ended on March 31. Since then, our rightsholder services team has been checking the information provided to us. Given the circumstances, we’re not able to say when the amounts will be paid out but we intend to make the payments in the coming weeks. Rest assured: we’re doing everything we can to get the payments out as early as possible.

Your Copibec team is monitoring the situation closely. While we wait for some of these challenges to end, this is a time for showing solidarity and staying home.

Frédérique Couette
Executive Director

SHARE   Facebook  Twitter  LinkedIn 

Copyright news from Canada and beyond

Internet Archive allows unlimited access to 1 million documents

This is not the first time this online platform has infringed copyright by lending digital books. Internet Archive has now created a “national emergency library” and is using it as an excuse to make 1.4 million documents available free of charge. Why? To address an “unprecedented global and immediate need for access to reading and research materials.” For authors and their publishers, it’s a clear example of opportunistic behaviour during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Read the article from L’ActuaLitté.

Virtual book fair supporting Quebec’s book industry

The COVID-19 crisis has led to many worthwhile initiatives bringing people together (virtually) and enabling them to share. Now a virtual book fair has been formed online. Go to their Facebook page for recommendations on what to read and take part in their activities from April 23 to 26. Authors will be reaching out safely from home.

Visit their Facebook page.

Uncertain future for magazines in Quebec and across Canada

With the whole world facing uncertainty because of COVID-19, magazine publishers are no exception, especially after the government ordered all non-essential activities to shut down. Printers are on hiatus and sales outlets are closed… Many publishers aren’t sure whether their operations will even be able to restart after the lockdown is lifted.

Read the article from Le Devoir.

SHARE   Facebook  Twitter  LinkedIn 
 COPYRIGHT FOR ALL 

Internet and copyright: how to use content legally

The Internet has proven to be indispensable: it’s an unlimited source of information and content of all kinds. We all know how it feels to find an article, photo, video, illustration or audio (...)

Previous READ MORE Next
SHARE   Facebook  Twitter  LinkedIn 
 COPYRIGHT AT WORK 

Telework and copyright

The working world is in the midst of an unprecedented experiment that could transform corporate cultures and operational methods on a far-reaching scale. Against the backdrop of the COVID-19 (...)

Previous READ MORE Next
SHARE   Facebook  Twitter  LinkedIn 

Copibec taking action as COVID-19 hits the arts and culture industry

The COVID-19 outbreak has forced the entire country to take the necessary measures to limit the pandemic’s spread. Copibec is no exception.

Your copyright collective closed its office on (...)

Previous READ MORE Next

Logo Copibec
Spécialistes du droit d'auteur
Infolettre - 16 avril 2020
PARTAGEZ   Facebook  Twitter  LinkedIn 

COVID-19 : Copibec en mode solutions

Copibec continue de s’adapter pour répondre à vos besoins en cette période de crise.

 Nos plus récentes nouvelles

PARTAGEZ   Facebook  Twitter  LinkedIn 

Mot de la directrice générale

La situation évolue rapidement au Québec comme ailleurs dans le monde. Aussi, Copibec continue d’opérer à distance pendant la crise de la COVID-19. N’hésitez pas à communiquer avec nous pour toute question.

Copibec passe à l’action

La pandémie a plongé le monde entier dans l’incertitude et cela n’épargne pas le milieu culturel, qui compte beaucoup de pigistes, de travailleuses et de travailleurs autonomes. Nous sommes préoccupés par la situation et nous travaillons à mettre en place, plus rapidement que prévu, le versement de redevances par dépôt direct afin d’assurer la continuité de nos paiements pendant la crise. Bien entendu, nous vous communiquerons tout changement. Suivez-nous sur Facebook et sur Twitter pour ne rien manquer.

Enfin, Copibec, en collaboration avec d’autres acteurs du milieu culturel, a obtenu l’assurance auprès du gouvernement fédéral que le versement de droits d’auteur et de redevances correspondant à une période antérieure à la crise de la COVID-19 ne sera pas un obstacle à l’obtention de la prestation canadienne d’urgence (PCU).

Des solutions pour le milieu de l’éducation au Québec

Copibec a révisé ses licences avec les milieux de l’enseignement pour aider à la fois le secteur de l’éducation, les créatrices et les créateurs de contenus et leurs maisons d’édition. Ainsi, la limite habituelle de reproduction de 15 % d’un livre a été augmentée à 35 %. Certaines utilisations peuvent également être autorisées sans frais. Ces changements sont temporaires et s’appliquent, pour l’instant, jusqu’au 1er mai 2020. Visitez notre site web pour tous les détails.

Collecte de données

La fermeture des commissions scolaires a également entraîné son lot de changements. Les établissements d’enseignement participant à la collecte de données ont jusqu’au 30 avril pour déclarer les reproductions, numérisations et projections effectuées pendant la deuxième période qui se terminait le 31 mars dernier. Les enseignantes et les enseignants peuvent le faire dès maintenant en accédant à leur compte. Notre équipe éducation est là pour répondre aux questions et vous assister.

En cette période d’incertitude, nous comprenons que le personnel enseignant n’a peut-être pas toutes les informations nécessaires pour déclarer les reproductions effectuées. C’est pourquoi nous demandons aux personnes concernées de fournir toutes les informations en leur possession. Chaque renseignement permettra à Copibec de rémunérer les créatrices et les créateurs derrière le matériel utilisé. Ces redevances font une différence, spécialement en temps de crise.

Arts visuels

La période d’inscription au paiement des arts visuels s’est terminée le 31 mars. Notre équipe des services aux titulaires de droits entre donc dans la phase de vérification des informations qui nous ont été transmises. Dans les circonstances actuelles, nous ne sommes pas en mesure de dire quand les sommes seront versées, mais nous prévoyons effectuer le paiement au cours des prochaines semaines. Rassurez-vous : nous mettons tout en œuvre pour assurer le versement des redevances le plus rapidement possible.

L’équipe de Copibec suit de près l’évolution de la situation. En attendant le retour de jours meilleurs, soyons solidaires et restons à la maison.

Me Frédérique Couette
Directrice générale

PARTAGEZ   Facebook  Twitter  LinkedIn 

Le droit d’auteur, ici et ailleurs

Internet Archives : plus de 1 million de documents disponibles sans restriction

Ce n’est pas la première fois que la plateforme en ligne enfreint le droit d’auteur pour la question du prêt numérique. Une bibliothèque nationale d’urgence : c’est l’excuse pour rendre disponibles 1,4 million de documents gratuitement. La raison ? Un besoin « mondial et immédiat d’accès à des documents de lecture et de recherche ». Pour les autrices, les auteurs et les maisons d’édition, c’est surtout un exemple d’opportunisme lié à la pandémie de la COVID-19.

Lire l’article dans L’ActuaLitté.

Le Salon du livre virtuel pour encourager le milieu du livre

La pandémie de la COVID-19 a donné lieu à beaucoup de belles initiatives pour se rassembler (virtuellement) et partager. Le Salon du livre virtuel est l’une d’elles. Suivez la page sur Facebook pour avoir des suggestions de lecture, et participez aux activités du 23 au 26 avril prochains. Au programme, des autrices et des auteurs qui animent dans le confort de leur foyer.

Voir la publication sur Facebook.

Avenir incertain pour les magazines québécois et canadiens

La crise de la COVID-19 plonge le monde entier dans l’incertitude. Les éditrices et les éditeurs de magazines en savent quelque chose, surtout après l’ordre du gouvernement de cesser toute activité non essentielle. Imprimeries sur pause, points de vente fermés… Nombreux sont ceux qui ne savent pas si leurs activités reprendront une fois la situation rétablie.

Lire l’article dans Le Devoir.

PARTAGEZ   Facebook  Twitter  LinkedIn 

Internet et droit d’auteur : comment agir en toute légalité

La réputation d’internet n’est plus à faire : c’est une source infinie d’informations et de contenus divers. Il est fréquent de tomber sur un article, une photo, une vidéo, une (...)

Précédent LIRE LA SUITE Suivant
PARTAGEZ   Facebook  Twitter  LinkedIn 
 LOI SUR LE DROIT D'AUTEUR 

Télétravail et droit d’auteur

Le monde professionnel fait face une expérience inattendue qui pourrait transformer les cultures d’entreprises et l’organisation du travail à grande échelle. En raison de la pandémie de la (...)

Précédent LIRE LA SUITE Suivant
PARTAGEZ   Facebook  Twitter  LinkedIn 

La COVID-19 amène des changements

La pandémie de la COVID-19 a forcé le Québec à prendre les mesures nécessaires afin de limiter sa propagation et Copibec ne fait pas exception.

Depuis le 16 mars, votre société de (...)

Précédent LIRE LA SUITE Suivant