Do you know what moral rights are?


Do you know what moral rights are?

Copyright can be broken down into various rights, including a specific category called moral rights. There are three types of moral rights.

Right of attribution

The person who created the content has the right to be attributed authorship of that content under their own name or a pen name (pseudonym). To respect that right, you’re required to indicate the bibliographic references, including the author’s name, whenever you use copyrighted content. For the same reason, Copibec licences do not allow you to use content from unknown sources.

Right to remain anonymous

It’s only natural that if you have the right to be credited as the creator of a work, you also have the right to remain anonymous so that you can publish content without being personally associated with it. Authors can use as many pseudonyms as they want and no one can force them to reveal their true identity. If an author takes advantage of the right to remain anonymous, that decision affects how long copyright will remain in effect for the work.

A famous legal case in 2013 based on the right to remain anonymous involved the first novel (The Cuckoo’s Calling) written by war veteran Robert Galbraith. Critics loved the book and were surprised it had been written by a first-time author. The author was thrilled that the novel was being appreciated for its content rather than because of its author’s name. That didn’t last long however: some partners in the law firm representing the author proved to be unable to resist revealing the secret.

The news spread across the globe. The author was eventually awarded “substantial” damages, which were donated to a charity. Who was the mysterious author? None other than the illustrious J. K. Rowling, the writer of the Harry Potter saga!

Right to the integrity of the work and its creator

You cannot destroy or modify a work in a way that is “to the prejudice of” its creator’s honour or reputation. Under the Copyright Act, mutilating the content or form of a work by adding or removing elements or distorting the work and its meaning is an infringement of moral rights. That’s why you’re required to request permission from the creator before modifying a work.

A textbook example of this was the case involving sculptor Michael Snow and the Toronto Eaton Centre. The shopping centre had placed holiday decorations on the necks of Snow’s Canada Geese sculptures hanging in the atrium. The sculptor considered that the Eaton Centre had mutilated his work in a way that damaged his honour and artistic reputation. He won his case.

In addition, under the Copyright Act, works may not be used in association with a product, service, cause or institution in a way that is detrimental to the honour and reputation of the work and its creator.

Moral rights cannot be assigned

Unlike patrimonial rights, moral rights cannot be assigned to third parties.

When patrimonial rights are assigned to a third party, the creator of the work is not allowing that person to do anything they want. For example, even if an illustrator gives you the right to use her images, you still have to indicate the bibliographic references. Similarly, you cannot associate the illustrations with a message that the creator does not approve of.

However, creators can waive their moral rights but any waiver must be in writing.

Savez-vous ce que sont les droits moraux?


Savez-vous ce que sont les droits moraux?

Le droit d’auteur se décompose en divers droits, et notamment en une catégorie de droits particulière : les droits moraux. Ces droits sont au nombre de 3.

Le droit de revendiquer la création de l’œuvre

Le créateur d’une œuvre possède le droit d’être associé à son œuvre que ce soit sous son véritable nom ou sous un pseudonyme. En raison de ce droit, vous devez toujours inscrire les références bibliographiques, dont le nom de l’auteur, lorsque vous utilisez une œuvre. C’est pourquoi Copibec proscrit dans ses licences l’utilisation d’une œuvre de source inconnue.

Le droit à l’anonymat

Corollaire naturel du droit de revendiquer la création, le droit à l’anonymat permet aux auteurs de publier une œuvre sans s’y associer personnellement. Un auteur peut utiliser plusieurs pseudonymes et personne ne peut le contraindre à révéler sa véritable identité. L’exercice du droit à l’anonymat influence la durée du droit d’auteur .

Un cas célèbre touchant le droit à l’anonymat concerne le premier roman de l’ex-militaire Robert Galbraith, L’appel du coucou (The Cuckoo’s Call), publié en 2013. Ravie, la critique s’étonna qu’un écrivain néophyte soit derrière un tel succès. L’auteure fut tout aussi heureuse que son roman reçoive un tel accueil pour ce qu’il était plutôt qu’en raison du célèbre nom qui se cachait derrière. Le plaisir fût de courte durée, des associés du cabinet d’avocat de l’auteure n’ayant pas su tenir leur langue.

La nouvelle devenue planétaire, l’écrivaine obtint des dommages et intérêts « substantiels » qui furent versés à un organisme de charité. Qui est cette mystérieuse auteure? L’illustre J. K. Rowling, auteure de la saga Harry Potter!

Le droit à l’intégrité de l’œuvre et de son auteur

Vous ne pouvez pas détruire ou modifier une œuvre d’une manière préjudiciable à l’honneur ou à la réputation de son créateur. Selon la Loi sur le droit d’auteur, mutiler le contenu ou la forme d’une œuvre en y intégrant ou en retirant des éléments de même que déformer l’œuvre et son propos porte atteinte aux droits moraux. Pour cette raison, l’autorisation du créateur doit être obtenue avant de modifier une œuvre.

Un cas d’école en cette matière est celui qui a opposé le sculpteur Michael Snow au Centre Eaton de Toronto. Le centre commercial avait accroché des décorations de Noël au cou de sculptures de bernaches créées par Snow et exposées au plafond du centre commercial. Le sculpteur jugea que le Centre Eaton avait mutilé son œuvre d’une manière préjudiciable à son honneur et sa réputation artistique et eut gain de cause en cour.

D’autre part, la Loi interdit d’associer une œuvre à une cause, un service, une institution ou un produit de manière préjudiciable à l’honneur et la réputation de l’œuvre ou de son auteur.

Les droits moraux sont incessibles

Contrairement aux droits patrimoniaux, les droits moraux ne peuvent être cédés à un tiers.

En cédant ses droits patrimoniaux à un tiers, le créateur de l’œuvre n’accorde pas le droit à ce dernier d’en faire ce qu’il veut. Un illustrateur peut vous accorder le droit d’utiliser ses images. Cela ne vous dispense pas d’inscrire les références bibliographiques. De même que vous ne pouvez pas associer les illustrations à un propos que le créateur désapprouve.

Les créateurs peuvent cependant renoncer à l’exercice de leurs droits moraux. Une telle renonciation doit se faire par écrit.