Copyright in a business context


Copyright in a business context

When it comes to copyright-protected content in Canada, the economic rights automatically belong to the employer if the content was created by an employee as part of their duties.

 

Understanding the difference between economic rights and moral rights

Economic rights are sometimes referred to more broadly as patrimonial rights, especially in Europe. The word patrimony relates to possessions and property. Economic and patrimonial rights represent the right to use copyrighted content.

Those rights are different from moral rights, which cover mainly the author’s reputation and honour.

 

Employers own the economic rights

Section 13 of the Copyright Act sheds some light on these rights.

For content created at work, only the employer has the authority to sell, publish, distribute, reproduce and adapt the relevant content. In addition, only the employer can claim copyright royalties for the use of that content.

Also, even the individuals who created content at work must obtain written permission from their employer before they can use it. In that case, they need to negotiate the terms of use and, if applicable, the payment of royalties.

Since employers hold the rights to the content, they have the right to approve or refuse any requested uses.

Exception! This automatic devolution or transfer of economic rights to the employer may not occur in some cases. An example is the university sector, where copyright is assumed to belong to the professors, not the educational institutions.

 

Employees retain their moral rights

Moral rights include the right to be acknowledged as the creator of the content, the right to remain anonymous and the right to preserve the integrity of the work.

Authors always retain the moral rights to their content even if it was created as part of their job. Those moral rights cannot be assigned to the employer. However, it’s possible to refrain from exercising them by adding a waiver clause in the contract of service, for instance.

For clarifications about the rights to content created by employees, refer to the employment contract, the employer's policies or the collective agreement. If there are no clauses about copyright, the provisions of the Copyright Act take precedence.

 

How to tell if content was created as part of an employee’s duties

The first step is to determine whether the person who created the content is an employee. This distinction is very important. If an employment relationship exists and the content was created in the course of that employment, the employer owns the economic rights.

Confirming the author’s status

According to the Copyright Act, an employee is a person in the employment of another person under a contract of service or apprenticeship. Typically, that means an employment contract.

However, if the content was created for an organization by freelancers or self-employed individuals, the organization does NOT own the rights to the content. Similarly, volunteers can claim copyright on the content they create because they’re not staff members.

This is not an employee

Freelancers, self-employed individuals and volunteers aren’t considered employees and therefore retain complete ownership of their copyright. Their rights can be assigned only if a relevant provision is included in their contract with the organization.

Personal projects

It may seem obvious but it’s important to point out that the copyright on personal projects created by employees on their own time belongs to them.

However, if they create content on topics related to or inspired by their work as employees, the dividing line between personal and professional projects may become blurred. In that case, it would be useful for the employer and employee to discuss it or even draw up a written agreement.

 

What if there’s no contract?

The general rule is that the author is the first owner of the copyright on the content created. However, the employment contract overrides that rule.

Be sure to check that important document, which should specify details such as whether or not the moral rights to the content created in the course of employment are assigned to the employer.

As well, if there’s no employment contract, copyright in works created as part of an employee's duties belong to the employee, not the employer.

 

 

Any question?

Ask our team of copyright specialists

Le droit d’auteur en entreprises


Le droit d’auteur en entreprises

Au Canada, les droits d’auteur dits « patrimoniaux » appartiennent automatiquement à l’employeur pour les documents créés par un membre du personnel dans le cadre de ses fonctions.

 

Distinguer le droit patrimonial du droit moral

Les droits patrimoniaux — de patrimoine, dans le sens de bien ou propriété — correspondent aux droits économiques ou droits d’exploitation d’une œuvre.

Les droits moraux eux concernent surtout la réputation et l’honneur des autrices et des auteurs.

Exemple de droit moral : le droit d'attribution — que le nom de l'autrice ou de l'auteur soit associé directement à l'œuvre en question. 

 

L’employeur est titulaire des droits patrimoniaux

L’article 13 de la Loi sur le droit d’auteur nous éclaire à ce sujet.

Pour les documents créés au travail, c’est l’employeur qui est le seul autorisé à vendre, publier, diffuser, reproduire et adapter les documents en question. L’employeur est aussi le seul à pouvoir réclamer des redevances de droit d’auteur sur l’utilisation de ces œuvres.

Aussi, même les créatrices et créateurs de documents créés au travail doivent obtenir l’autorisation écrite de leur employeur pour les utiliser. Elles et ils doivent négocier les conditions d’utilisation et, le cas échéant, le paiement de redevances.

L’employeur étant titulaire des droits sur les contenus, il est en droit d’accepter ou de refuser les utilisations demandées.

Attention ! Cette règle de dévolution automatique à l'employeur peut faire l'objet de disposition contraire. Dans les milieux académiques par exemple, il est présumé que le droit d’auteur appartient aux professeurs et non à l’institution d’enseignement. 

 

Les employés conservent les droits moraux

Les droits moraux incluent le droit de revendiquer l’attribution d’une œuvre, le droit à l’anonymat ainsi que le droit à l’intégrité de l’œuvre.

L’autrice ou l’auteur conserve toujours les droits moraux sur son œuvre même si celle-ci a été créée dans l’exercice de son emploi. Ces droits moraux ne peuvent pas être cédés à l’employeur. Il est toutefois possible de renoncer à les exercer en ajoutant une clause de renonciation au contrat de louage de services par exemple.

Pour plus de clarté sur les droits sur les contenus créés, consultez le contrat de travail, les politiques de l’employeur ou encore la convention collective. En l’absence de clauses sur les droits d’auteur, ce sont les modalités de la Loi qui ont préséance.

 

Comment savoir si l’œuvre a été créée dans l’exercice de l’emploi ?

Il faut en premier lieu déterminer si la créatrice ou le créateur du contenu est membre du personnel. Cette notion est très importante, car c’est l’existence du lien d’emploi qui permet à l’employeur d’obtenir les droits patrimoniaux lorsque l’œuvre est créée dans l’exercice de cet emploi.

Vérifier le statut de l’autrice ou de l’auteur

Selon la Loi sur le droit d’auteur, il s’agit d’une personne liée à une autre personne par un contrat de louage de service ou d’apprentissage. Il s’agit typiquement d’un contrat de travail.

En revanche, si l’œuvre est créée pour une organisation par des pigistes, des travailleuses ou travailleurs autonomes, ce n’est PAS l’entreprise qui est titulaire des droits sur l’œuvre. De la même manière, les bénévoles peuvent revendiquer les droits d’auteur sur leur travail, car ils ne sont pas membres du personnel.

Ceci n’est pas un salarié

La pigiste, le travailleur autonome ou la bénévole conservent la complète propriété de ses droits d’auteur puisqu’elle ou il n’est pas membre du personnel et la cession des droits ne peut avoir lieu que si elle est inscrite dans le contrat avec l’organisation.

Projets personnels

Cela va de soi, mais il est important de le préciser : les droits d’auteur sur les projets personnels des salariés (créés sur leur temps libre) leur appartiennent.

Toutefois, s'ils créent des contenus sur des sujets connexes à leur travail d’employé ou inspiré de ce travail, la ligne peut devenir floue entre projet personnel et professionnel. Dans un tel cas, une discussion et même une entente écrite entre l’employeur et le membre du personnel serait souhaitable.

 

Que faire en l’absence de contrat ?

La règle générale veut que le premier titulaire des droits sur une œuvre soit son autrice ou auteur. Toutefois, cette règle est contournée par le contrat de travail.

Assurez-vous de bien vérifier ce document important qui devrait spécifier entre autres si les droits moraux sur les contenus créés dans le cadre de l’emploi sont cédés à l’employeur (ou non).

Aussi, en l’absence de contrat de travail, le droit d’auteur sur les œuvres créées dans le cadre des fonctions d’un membre du personnel lui appartiendra et non à l’employeur.

 

Des questions ?

Communiquez avec notre équipe de spécialistes