What to do if your content is posted online illegally


What to do if your content is posted online illegally

Download flow chart in English (PDF).

The Internet is overflowing with websites that share content protected by the Copyright Act but that have not obtained consent from the copyright owners. In that anonymous world where no one seems to be liable for anything, copyright owners can feel powerless when their content is used illegally. What can you do if you see that your content is being shared without your permission?

Your first thought may be to consider legal proceedings. That’s a common reaction among most of the copyright owners in that situation who contact us. However, by taking some simple steps first, you can avoid many headaches for yourself.

What should you do?

It may in fact be completely legal for your content to have been published on the Web without your knowing it. And it’s also possible that the person who posted your content online was acting in good faith without realizing they were infringing your copyright.

Not every case of illegal sharing of copyright-protected content involves incorrigible Internet pirates. Even though ignorance of the law is no excuse, if you try to resolve the issue by threatening legal action and sending lawyer’s letters you could be wasting your time and energy while also missing out on valuable opportunities!

Here are the questions you should ask and the steps you should take to have your content taken down from a website.

Has the site been given permission to share the content?

That’s the first question you should ask. The second question is: Who could have given permission to the site?

Does anyone other than yourself hold rights to the content? Those parties could have given permission without informing you. Did they have the authority to do it? That depends on the agreements you made with them.

Before calling a lawyer or writing to Copibec and especially before contacting the site administrators, talk to the people you worked with. Who knows? Maybe they’ve already been paid royalties for the use of that content.

If the site is sharing the content without permission

So, you’ve checked with the people you worked with and you’ve confirmed that they haven’t been in touch with the site administrators. You can therefore conclude that your content has been posted online illegally.

In that case, should you launch legal proceedings? Maybe not. You need to ask some other questions first. Here’s why:

The person who put your content online without your consent is probably unaware that they’re infringing your copyright. Illegal sharing doesn’t always mean that Internet piracy is involved. The people using the content may be misinformed rather than malicious. Obviously, that doesn’t relieve them of their responsibilities but, keeping that in mind, you can assume they’re acting in good faith while you move on to the next steps.

Here are a few examples of websites where your content could be shared without permission by people who don’t realize they’re breaking the law:

- Sites of individuals, organizations or businesses that are unaware of the rules around copyright
- Sites of businesses or organizations whose content is generated by employees who haven’t been informed about copyright issues
- Sites where content is generated by users and where it is difficult for administrators to verify that all the content is legally compliant, such as:

Social media (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram)
Video and streaming music platforms (YouTube, Vimeo, Spotify)
Internet forums
Blog comment sections
Content aggregators
Content-sharing sites for teachers
Sites that users mistakenly assume are password-protected intranets

How to ask to have your content taken down

Many sites offer ways to request that illegally reproduced content be removed.

Check whether the site offers an option of that kind. In general, sites with that option will agree to take down the illegal content within 48 hours of receiving a request. The method for submitting a request can be found in the site’s terms of use. Sites often include those terms under headings such as copyright, legal notice, acceptable use policy, privacy policy, terms and conditions, or DMCA (Digital Millennium Copyright Act).

Some sites will ask you for a detailed email while others will make a form available for you to fill out. In either case, here are the details you’ll need to provide:

- Confirmation that you’re the copyright owner or the owner’s authorized representative
- Your complete contact information (email address, phone number, mailing address)
Bibliographic references to identify the illegally reproduced content
- Exact location of the content (URL of the page where the content appears)
- Notification from the copyright owners or their agents that the content was reproduced without permission and that it contravenes Canada’s Copyright Act

If the site doesn’t offer a copyright takedown option

Don’t worry, that’s not unusual. In that case, a polite email providing the above details should be sufficient.

We think it’s important to repeat that the people using your content without permission aren’t necessarily Internet pirates. They probably didn’t think about what they were doing or they assumed there wouldn’t be an issue under the Copyright Act.

It’s likely the site’s owner will apologize and remove your content immediately. You could even propose a user licence to the site administrator and negotiate the royalties!

Be sure you’re asking the right site to take down your content!

Many sites contain links to third-party sites where you can download illegally reproduced content. That applies to certain forums where users share links to illegal download sites.

When you request that your content be taken down, make sure you’re contacting the illegal download site rather than the forum or site offering a link to that download site. You’ll save yourself some steps. Your content will be removed from the download site and, at the same time, the link to that site will no longer be functional.

What if the site’s owner refuses to take down your content?

If the steps you take are unsuccessful, your only option will be legal action. We suggest that you contact a lawyer.

Copibec’s role in fighting Internet piracy

Previously, Copibec and the RCMP worked together in the effort to stop the illegal sharing of content protected by the Copyright Act. However, in recent years, the police have stopped taking action in those types of cases.

Given the volume of illegally reproduced content available online and the time needed for each takedown request, Copibec isn’t able to monitor content or give the necessary notifications on your behalf.

However, we’re continuing to document these copyright infringement cases. If you discover illegally reproduced material, we’re also available to help you in your efforts. Please do not hesitate to contact us!

Although we’ve detailed the steps you should take in these cases, we very much hope you won’t have to take them!

Votre œuvre est mise en ligne illégalement. Que faire ?


Votre œuvre est mise en ligne illégalement. Que faire ?

Téléchargez l'arbre décisionnel complet (PDF).

Internet regorge de sites web où sont partagées des œuvres protégées par la Loi sur le droit d’auteur sans le consentement des titulaires de droits. Dans ce monde où règne l’anonymat et l’impression d’absence de responsabilité, un titulaire de droits d’auteur peut se sentir démuni face à une utilisation illégale de ses œuvres. Que faire si vous voyez votre œuvre partagée sans votre consentement ?

Entamer des procédures légales sera la première action à laquelle vous penserez. C’est le cas de la majorité des titulaires de droits dans cette situation qui communiquent avec nous. Or, de simples démarches préliminaires pourraient vous éviter bien des cauchemars.

Que devriez-vous faire ?

Il est possible que l’œuvre soit publiée sur le web en toute légalité sans que vous le sachiez, mais il est aussi possible que la personne publiant votre œuvre en ligne agisse de bonne foi, ignorant qu’elle enfreint vos droits d’auteur.

Les partages illégaux de contenus protégés par le droit d’auteur ne sont pas toujours commis par des pirates invétérés. S’il est vrai que nul n’est censé ignorer la Loi, résoudre le problème à coup de menaces de poursuites et de mises en demeure peut représenter une perte de temps et d’énergie, et risque même de vous faire perdre des opportunités !

Voici les questions que vous devriez vous poser et les démarches à entreprendre pour faire retirer votre œuvre d’un site.

Le site détient-il une autorisation de partager ?

C’est la première question que vous devez vous poser. La deuxième question à se poser : qui sont les personnes susceptibles d’avoir donné l’autorisation au site web ?

Est-ce que d’autres personnes que vous détiennent des droits sur l’œuvre ? Ces personnes peuvent avoir donné une autorisation sans vous en informer. Avaient-ils le droit de le faire ? Cela dépend de vos ententes avec eux.

Avant d’appeler un avocat, d’écrire à Copibec et, surtout, de communiquer avec les administrateurs du site web, consultez vos collaborateurs. Qui sait ? Peut-être ont-ils perçu des redevances pour cette utilisation ?

Le site web partage sans autorisation

Vous avez fait le tour de vos collaborateurs et vous savez qu’ils n’ont pas été en contact avec les administrateurs du site. Vous pouvez en déduire que votre œuvre est en ligne illégalement.

Sachant cela, est-ce que vous devez entamer des recours légaux ? Peut-être pas. D’autres questions doivent se poser d’abord. Voici pourquoi :

La personne ayant mis votre œuvre en ligne sans votre consentement ignore probablement qu’elle enfreint vos droits d’auteur. Le site en faute n’est pas toujours un site de pirates et les gens qui l’utilisent ne sont peut-être que mal informés plutôt que malintentionnés. Soyons clairs ! Cela ne les dégage pas de leurs responsabilités, mais sachant cela, on peut entamer nos démarches en présumant de leur bonne foi.

Voici quelques exemples de sites où vos œuvres peuvent être partagées sans autorisation par des gens ignorant qu’ils enfreignent le droit d’auteur :

- Les sites web d’individus, d’organisations ou d’entreprises ignorant les règles entourant le droit d’auteur
- Les sites d’entreprises ou d’organisations dont le contenu est généré par des employés non sensibilisés aux questions de droit d’auteur
- Les sites web dont le contenu est généré par les utilisateurs et pour lesquels les administrateurs peuvent difficilement vérifier la légalité de l’intégralité du contenu. Exemple :

Les médias sociaux (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram)
Les plateformes de vidéos et musiques en continu (Youtube, Vimeo, Spotify)
Les forums de discussion
Les sections « commentaires » de blogues
Les agrégateurs de contenu
Les sites de partage de matériel pour enseignants
Les sites que les utilisateurs confondent avec un intranet protégé

Comment demander le retrait de votre œuvre

De nombreux sites disposent de mécanismes permettant de demander le retrait de fichiers contrefaits.

Vérifiez si le site possède un mécanisme de demandes de retraits de fichiers contrefaits. En règle générale, les sites possédant un tel outil retirent les œuvres diffusées dans l’illégalité moins de 48 heures après la demande. Vous devriez trouver le mécanisme de retrait dans les conditions d’utilisation du site. Certains sites web regroupent ces conditions des rubriques nommées « droit d’auteur », « avis légal », « politique d’utilisation », « politique de confidentialité » « termes et conditions » ou « DMCA (Digital Millenium Copyright Act) ».

Certains sites demanderont un courriel détaillé, d’autres offriront un formulaire. Dans tous les cas, voici les informations que vous devrez fournir :

- Une confirmation que vous êtes le titulaire des droits d’auteur ou que vous êtes le représentant autorisé de ce dernier
- Vos coordonnées complètes (courriel, téléphone, adresse postale)
- L’identification des œuvres contrefaites au moyen des références bibliographiques
- La localisation exacte des documents, soit le lien URL de la page où se trouve l’œuvre.
- Une mention que la reproduction des œuvres a été faite sans autorisation des titulaires de droits ou de leurs agents et en contravention de la Loi canadienne sur le droit d'auteur.

Si le site n’offre aucun mécanisme de retrait

Ne vous en faites pas, c’est fréquent. Dans ce cas, un courriel courtois dans lequel vous offrez les informations mentionnées précédemment devrait suffire.

Nous croyons pertinent de le répéter : les gens utilisant vos œuvres sans votre autorisation ne sont pas toujours des pirates. Il est probable qu’ils n’aient pas eu de réflexion à ce sujet ou qu’ils soient convaincus de ne pas enfreindre la Loi sur le droit d’auteur.

Il est raisonnable de croire que le propriétaire du site s’excusera et retirera votre œuvre dans les plus brefs délais. Vous pourriez même proposer une licence d’utilisation à l’administrateur du site web et négocier des redevances !

Attention : demandez le retrait au bon site web !

Plusieurs sites offrent des liens vers des sites tiers où il est possible de télécharger votre œuvre illégalement. C’est le cas de certains forums où les internautes se partagent des liens vers des sites de téléchargements illégaux.

Lorsque vous effectuez une demande de retrait, vous devez vous assurer d’adresser celle-ci au site de téléchargement illégal et non pas au forum ou site offrant un lien vers celui-ci. Vous ferez d’une pierre, deux coups. Votre œuvre sera retirée du site de téléchargement et le lien pointant vers ce site deviendra caduc.

Le propriétaire refuse de retirer votre œuvre ?

Si ces démarches n’offrent aucun résultat, la voie juridique représente votre seul recours. Nous suggérons de faire appel au service d’un avocat.

Le rôle de Copibec dans la lutte au piratage

Jadis, Copibec collaborait avec la GRC pour mettre fin aux partages illégaux d’œuvres protégées par la Loi sur le droit d’auteur. Depuis quelques années, les autorités policières n’interviennent plus sur ce type de dossiers.

Compte tenu du volume de fichiers contrefaits disponibles et du temps requis pour chaque retrait, Copibec n’est pas en mesure d’effectuer la veille ni les dénonciations pour vos œuvres en votre nom.

Toutefois, Copibec continue de documenter les cas de violation des droits d’auteur. Si vous découvrez des cas illégaux, nous sommes également disponibles pour vous soutenir dans vos démarches. Communiquez avec nous !

Espérons que vous ne devrez jamais appliquer nos conseils !